Best Teen Girl Voice Recording - Microphones!
Old 18th May 2011
Gear interested

Best Teen Girl Voice Recording - Microphones!

Hi All, I'm new to gearslutz, so please be nice!

Here's a start to my long life with the crew here,.. question: I am recording my daughters friend as a new pop project and I've recorded her already with an AKG C 414 B XLS (see rapidshare file below)

This is a sample of the raw file.

https://rapidshare.com/files/979284012/AKG_C_414_B.wav

However, she's only 11 and obviously her diaphragm is still small scale, to that of a "smaller" voice!

Question: can anyone recommend some decent tube microphones that are specifically brilliant at responding to the teen girl voice as a performance quality; that can widen this sound with balance? The AKG file above shows how thin the sound is at the moment as a raw take, but with a tube mic, such as the Apex 460 I mean the Avantone CV12 sorry this could warm it up somewhat, make the tracked vocal appear wider!?

Also looking at the Golden Age 73 pre as option to help with this preamp stage!

Any recommendations from anyone who's successfully tracked a teen girl voice and got a great sound out of a microphone under $1000 bucks, please let me know the set-ups, mics worth reviewing for a possible purchase!

Just to save from the Manley reference names drop, if the solutions could be only ones costing $1000 or under for a mic! (I've already had Neumann 149 thrown at me several times,.. if I had $3000 oh happy days!)

Many thanks, some great conversations going on here, hope this one can be helpful to other as well.

Thanks! Quartal
Old 18th May 2011
Lives for gear

SM7b!
Old 18th May 2011
Gear interested

Quote:
Originally Posted by gogar View Post
SM7b!
Have you used the SM7b with a teen girl voice? I was checking out the Taylor Swift PR on the AVANTONE CV-12...

Does anyone else have any experience with mic selection / excellent results for teen girl vocal recordings?

Thanks gogar
Old 18th May 2011