Login / Register

How much 'cleaning up' do you do before passing the song onto the mix engineer?
New Reply
Subscribe
A440
11th March 2011
Old 11th March 2011
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

How much 'cleaning up' do you do before passing the song onto the mix engineer?

I'm coming to the end of tracking an album which I will probably send to a mix engineer to mix.

How much 'cleaning up' do you recommend I do before before sending it on?

By 'cleaning up' I mean cutting out noise at the beginning and end of tracks, muting between vocal phrases. That sort of thing.

Or is it best to leave all that sort of stuff in?

I would ask the mix engineer, but havn't decided which one to use yet,
11th March 2011
Old 11th March 2011
3 + infractions, forum membership suspended.

Hi, I have a mix/master engineer I use in Scotland UK from time to time and he doesnt want to clean noises out and told me in so many words, he does it but I feel the cleaner I can cut room noises/breathing out of the mix the better...noise gates work, but can actualy cut out some of the music if not careful...
Quote:
Originally Posted by A440 View Post
I'm coming to the end of tracking an album which I will probably send to a mix engineer to mix.

By 'cleaning up' I mean cutting out noise at the beginning and end of tracks, muting between vocal phrases. That sort of thing.

11th March 2011
Old 11th March 2011
Toronto Maple Leafs fan

Send a message via MSN to jordanvoth
Depends, do you want your mix engineer being paid to do something you could be doing at home? Just make sure you leave the original tracks with him as well in case you goof something.
11th March 2011
Old 11th March 2011
Lives for gear

One thought is this....

Once you choose a mix engineer, send them the original session, as is, and let them check it out. Then explain what tracks you feel might need "cleaning" etc. Let the mix engineer guide you here.