New Reply
Subscribe
Shrum
19th February 2011
Old 19th February 2011
Gear nut

Recording session, tipps please

Hy gearslutz
Next week I will have my first independent recording session and since it is not a very standard recording i would like to hear some opinions from people who know more than i do.

I am doing a live recording of 2 chellos, guitar(amplifier), vocal, keyboard and some shakers/percussion.
It is not a great sounding room, cca. 30 square meters

So, I will have on my disposal my RME FF800 which has 4 mic preamps, I will have two AKG c414 mics and two shure sm57 mics.

My idea was to close mic with the shure sm57 the guitar amp and vocal and to use the 414s to make a stereo technique (i thought maybe blumlein)

I appreciate every tip and since I have no experience I would be grateful if someone would explain how he/she would position the stereo mics and which poar patter to use.

Thanks in advance,
19th February 2011
Old 19th February 2011
Lives for gear

You don't mention your headphone monitoring situation, so I'll just recommend what I'd do in a perfect situation:

Amps, percussion, and vocals can all get in the way of a clean cello recording, so do whatever you can to get those sounds separately, even if the instruments all need to be tracked together.

Use 414's as stereo pair for the ensemble (blumlein, spaced pair, etc is up to you and the room).

Get the guitar amp in another room, spot mic with a 57, route to cans. Alternatively forgo amp altogether, DI the guitar and send that to cans. Re-amp the guitar after the fact.

You can use a 57 for a guide vocal, encourage the singer to sing as quietly and sparingly as possible. Overdub vocals afterwards using a 414.

Don't track percussion during the live session. Overdub percussion, using a 57 (or 414 if appropriate).

And have fun.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Olhsson View Post