New Reply
Subscribe
abadchris
25th January 2011
Old 25th January 2011
Gear interested

Blue Bluebird Mic + ? Preamp

Hello studio slutz!

So I just picked up the Blue Bluebird microphone and have enjoyed it so far. It sounds good with my current setup, but I know it will sound GREAT if coupled with a solid preamp.

Just wanted to get anybody's opinion on what preamp would go well with this mic? I'm very new to the home studio game, so I'm open to any suggestions really. I'll be primarily using the setup to record R&B vocals, both male and female... with some occasional Hip-Hop.

Budget would be around $500-700.

Right now I have the Bluebird connected directly to the Apogee Duet, which from what I heard already has a pretty decent pre.

Would love to hear everyone's thoughts. Thanks in advance!

-Chris
----------
13-inch Unibody MacBook Pro
2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
4 GB 1067 MHz DDR3
Pro Tools 9 HD
abadchris
1st February 2011
Old 1st February 2011
Gear interested

BUMP
1st February 2011
Old 1st February 2011
Lives for gear

what preamp are you currently using for it?
1st February 2011
Old 1st February 2011
Gear nut

I have the Blue Bluebird as well, and I have been loving it for my voice and the lead signer in my band! I have been using a Focusrite Platinum Penta with it and I must say I sounds killer! Really nothing special. I mean I got the Focusrite as a gift so that worked out for me!

It depends on your budget really and the sound that you want. I would say the in mid-low end range though the Penta and the Presonus Eureka would be good candidates though.

Hope this is somewhat helpful!
1st February 2011
Old 1st February 2011
Gear nut

I would also add getting a more legitimate pop filter for the mic. I just upgraded to the Steadman and what a difference! Just my 2 cents...
2nd February 2011
Old 2nd February 2011
Lives for gear

Lots of good stuff in that range. Presonus Eureka, RNP, Art Tube VLA, UA 610, etc.
abadchris
12th February 2011
Old 12th February 2011