speaker cabinet resonance?
New Reply
Subscribe
sammi84
25th December 2010
Old 25th December 2010
Gear interested

speaker cabinet resonance?

Hello slutz, long time reader first time poster .

I am a relative noob.

I have some krk rp5's, just hooked them up and on ultrabeat with some kick drum bass my speaker cabinet appears to be resonating , ive many diy bass traps and the speakers themselves are on sand filled stands which are on conrete.

Is this normal? or are my speakers faulty? or is it the amp inside or something?

do all speaker cabinets resonate to some degree? this is the first time ive used monitors usually use headphones.

Ive gone around the studio and it really does sound like its coming from the speaker cabinet it self .

thanks

sammi
26th December 2010
Old 26th December 2010
Lives for gear

Sadly, a lot of expensive monitors do have cabinet resonances and rattles. It's the nature of economics: these things are built cheaply and lightly for the mass market. If they were built first and foremost for sound quality, they would use heavy solid woods and dovetail joints and the shipping costs alone would make them uncompetitive.

Maybe you can repair them with some glue and bracing. Sometimes all you need is a bit of absorbant (e.g. foam or felt) jammed between the speaker terminals - it can act like a shock absorber.

Room position may affect rattles - it might be situated in a nasty low frequency node. Try not to send unnecessary sub frequencies to them - maybe keep a limiter with a high pass filter on the master bus.
sammi84
26th December 2010
Old 26th December 2010
Gear interested

Ok thanks a lot for your reply, knowing that it is something even expensive monitors suffer from makes me feel a little better, yet a little annoyed with the price of serious monitors that could still have this problem.