What's your favourite tracking EQ?
New Reply
Subscribe
Matthew Murray
11th January 2006
Old 11th January 2006
Lives for gear

What's your favourite tracking EQ?

I'm a bit new to the outboard arena ... my education with regards to EQs is limited. Without poking too much fun at me -- (limited amounts of fun-poking permitted) -- if you could only have one outboard EQ for tracking, what would you choose? Budget is someplace between $1000 and $2500 .. though I'd like to keep it down if I can get "great" for less. Thinking I should get a stereo EQ (or two channels). Application would be primarily for sweetening vocals, though perhaps for other instruments as well (typically recorded instruments run the gamut from drums to bass to guitars to keys and synths).

Some EQ's I've had in mind, but have no idea still:

• Empirical Labs Lil' Freak (I suppose I'd need two of them for stereo applications)
Great River EQ-2NV

Please try not to make the now common suggestion of trying them out for myself... I'm unable to try these higher-end EQ's at my local stores, where the words Behringer and Samson are king. I will eventually "try one of them out". Just trying to educate myself before I drop the money in the first place...

Thanks kindly everyone!
11th January 2006
Old 11th January 2006
Lives for gear

Just to add to that -- I have a third option now that I'd love some yea's or nea's on. Since I was getting a Portico 5012 anyways, I just realized I could get two Portico 5032's with the EQ's in the chain. I imagine that these are going to be somewhat like 1073's, only improved (at least in Mr. Rupert Neve's mind, which is a mind I'm happy to trust).

Anybody think that's a stupid idea? :-)
11th January 2006
Old 11th January 2006
Gear Guru

My favorite tracking EQ is no EQ.

[I just wanted to be the first. But maybe I should have said, my favorite "EQ" is picking the right mic for the job.]