Recording to a click... How long the norm?
Old 8th September 2010
Lives for gear

If it is in fact the norm .... How long have click tracks been used in recording... I have little knowledge of older recordings such as Ray Charles, Sinatra, the Beatles, and stuff from even earlier... I know much music today is recorded with a click track.. Was wondering how long this has been the norm....
Old 8th September 2010
Gear Guru

Way too long.

Someone could probably put together a chart or something, but it must have co-incided with the shift from "a band that plays music" to "a production system that results in music."
Old 8th September 2010
Lives for gear

I second that....

nothing like suffocating dynamics and emotion with a click track...

And then there's the song that just locks in with a click

I think certain songs were made to be in perfect tempo and others were made to breathe a good producer will
discern the difference

My ratio has usually 90% human time
And 10% click
My favorite songs are the human ones
Old 8th September 2010
Gear addict

Dark Side Of the Moon was recorded to a click... i know they used a click often at Abby Road... Alan Parsons talks about it in Behind The Glass a little bit

I do about 70% click... It all depends on the artist and the song...

I will go so far as to create click tracks with snares/hats/kick/cymbals etc sometimes. I will also do complicated tempo maps that speed up/slowdown either suddenly or gradually.

Click tracks make editing so much easier and generally end up saving time in the long run because you can fly harmonies and other parts all over the place with ease using relative grid.

Other songs, however, a click track just makes no sense.
Old 8th September 2010
Lives for gear

John bohnam and mitch mitchell didnt need click tracks. Johnny the 16 year old in high school who has been playing drums for 3 years will sound 99% better gridded to a click. There is "grooving" and there is "playing out of time"