Stephen Stills Acoustic Guitar sound
New Reply
Subscribe
Lance Lawson
31st May 2010
Old 31st May 2010
Lives for gear

Stephen Stills Acoustic Guitar sound

The reason I became deeply involved with acoustic guitars as both a player and builder is directly tied to the sound that Stephen Stills got out of his D-28 on the early CSN and CSNY records. For instance Suite Judy Blue Eyes, You Don't Have To Cry and Helplessly Hoping have a unique sound and one that's not been heard since.

As a guitar builder I know how to build towards a desired sound and I know what's possible in the way of guitar voicing. However those on CSN/CSNY recordings the guitar is a processed sound. So has anybody any idea how Stills got that sound. It is IMO the Holy Grail of recorded acoustic guitar sound.
31st May 2010
Old 31st May 2010
Gear nut

I don't know about helplessly hoping, but on Judy, the tuning may be an important factor (EBEEEE). In addition, I think some engineer said somewhere that they used a LA2A in limit mode on these guitars...I'll look for the article.
31st May 2010
Old 31st May 2010
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by miksirhc View Post
I don't know about helplessly hoping, but on Judy, the tuning may be an important factor (EBEEEE). In addition, I think some engineer said somewhere that they used a LA2A in limit mode on these guitars...I'll look for the article.
So it was like a big Appalachian dulcimer?

I've used an EBEEBE tuning before (with the two "middle" E's being tuned to the same note, which gives some interesting possibilities when you fret them separately. (Actually, the tuning I used was key-tuned down from E to Db but you get the idea. Same relationships.)

I found it to be a surprisingly useful (if a bit droney) tuning.