Noise From Guitar Amps, Any Solutions?
New Reply
Subscribe
Gatsby
12th May 2010
Old 12th May 2010
Gear addict

Noise From Guitar Amps, Any Solutions?

So I own some Fender Telecasters and a couple amps with my main amp being a Fender 59' Bassman. My issue is that my amp makes a lot of noise. There isn't any hum, just a lot of white noise that doesn't sound good when recorded. Anyways, I'm pretty new to recording and I wondered if there were any solutions to this and I wanted to know if this was pretty much normal with guitar amps. So I have a few questions...

Is the noise a normal problem with the majority of amps or/and are there higher end amps out there that do more to keep the noise down? Could my amp just happen to be pretty bad in regards to noise?

What causes the noise? And does having certain pickups, or pickups versus humbuckers affect the noise?

Will using a descent power conditioner say from a company like Furman that filters the electrical signal to be clean and isolates outlets minimizing intercomponent interference actually help me in any way, or is that a waste of money?

Is this pretty much a problem only addressed by recording techniques and the use of hardware/software?
12th May 2010
Old 12th May 2010
Gear addict

Sometimes this works for me, sometimes it makes the tone of the guitar sound strange. Record just the white noise to a separate track and flip the phase to cancel it out. I will also sometimes employ a broadband noise reduction like DINR, X-Noise or similar. More often than not I ease up on the compressor settings and live with it.
12th May 2010
Old 12th May 2010
cork sniffer

How old are the preamp tubes? Did you try to reseat them yet?
12th May 2010
Old 12th May 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gatsby View Post