How much do internships pay?
New Reply
Subscribe
citizenpuppet
25th March 2010
Old 25th March 2010
Gear interested

How much do internships pay?

I'm very new here, so I'm sure this may have been answered already.

I may be able to intern at an incredible local studio. I have no experience recording, other than playing in bands and entering the studio here and there. They told me I'd be working for "barely any pay."

My question is: how much does the average intern usually bring in?

Thanks!
25th March 2010
Old 25th March 2010
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

$0.00 dollars. You'll probably get your meals paid for (that you'll have to pick up or order thumbsup).

But, if you are getting school credit for your internship, I don't think you can "legally" work for free. They should pay you minimum wage.
25th March 2010
Old 25th March 2010
Gear nut

Nothing! Sweet FA.

Maybe some travel expenses or food, if you're lucky and working somewhere with nice people. But maybe not. If the studio was really unscrupulous, they could probably get away with charging some kids for internships.

Bear in mind that 'decent' established places might pay assistant engineers minimum wage, or slightly above that. Or sometimes below, depending on how they screw you with the hours you work (not sure what minimum wage is in the US).

If you want money, look to a different industry!

Ad
25th March 2010
Old 25th March 2010
Lives for gear