recording saxophones!
New Reply
Subscribe
prophetik
19th February 2010
Old 19th February 2010
Gear Head

recording saxophones!

i am a professional saxophonist, primarily doing recording in the studio setting. i need a mic that'll give me solid response for all four primary saxophones - mostly alto and tenor, but i want the response needed for a bari and the touch needed for a soprano, too.

the local recording guy swears by the AT 4033, which (used) would fit perfectly into what i've got to spend (i'd like to stay under 250$, but i can go as high as 500$ for something that's really good). he mentioned looking into a ribbon mic as well, though. i know very little about ribbon mics, so i was looking for the forum's feedback.

this would (theoretically) be running into either a focusrite saffire pro 40 or an m-audio 2626 into a custom windows system i'll be building.

i'm primarily a cool jazz and classical player, but i do bigger stuff on occasion. i will never need to worry about someone else in my studio, since it's just a project studio and i write my own backups. i'm just worried purely about sound.

any thoughts? thanks in advance, guys.
19th February 2010
Old 19th February 2010
Gear maniac

Cascade Fathead II with Lundahl Transformer.
prophetik
19th February 2010
Old 19th February 2010
Gear Head

...i should have mentioned that i appreciate it when people do more than say random stuff and leave. any reason why i'd like that one?
19th February 2010
Old 19th February 2010
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

glad to help
prophetik
19th February 2010
Old 19th February 2010
Gear Head

i wasn't trying to be short, i was trying to get more information.

of those five websites that you have in that screenshot, only one actually fit my topic. when i went to post this thread, i got the same five threads, and i read them all. none really did what i asked.

that's why i'm trying to get more information =)
prophetik
21st February 2010
Old 21st February 2010
Gear Head