Recording Guitar Amps, How Loud???
New Reply
Subscribe
Gatsby
14th December 2009
Old 14th December 2009
Gear addict

Recording Guitar Amps, How Loud???

I'm new to recording and I have a question about recording guitar amps, which is, how loud should I set my guitar amp for my microphones to pick-up the fullest, best sound? So far when I have recorded my guitar amp I just set the volume to the level that I usually have it when I play by myself which is just loud enough to be clear, but far from being loud at all.

So yeah, how loud should I set my amp when I record it?
14th December 2009
Old 14th December 2009
Lives for gear

Send a message via Skype™ to Ciozzi
There's no answer to your question, since it depends on too many factors. The only way for you to find out is to record something at different volumes (from very low to cranked), gain match all the takes and listen back. You can't go wrong this way...
14th December 2009
Old 14th December 2009
has all the gear he needs

I usually get my amps sounding good in the room. When I have that satisfied smile I turn down the gain a little and hit the red button.

Leonard Scaper
14th December 2009
Old 14th December 2009
Gear addict

Depends on the part, just make sure that you are pushing the speaker the way you want it to sound.

Higher wattage speakers require a certain minimum of juice to get them working properly.

Conversely, a speaker may produce a desirable sound when pushed to its max. Think a 100 watt Marshall with 4 x 25 watt speakers in a closed back cab, or a Vox AC30 with 2 x 15 watt speakers.

As others have stated, get it sounding the way you want to in in the room.
14th December 2009
Old 14th December 2009
Gear Head

one louder... 11
Gatsby
14th December 2009
Old 14th December 2009
Gear addict