New Reply
Subscribe
Addni
21st October 2009
Old 21st October 2009
Gear maniac

Send a message via MSN to Addni
How long can a guitar cable be?

I've been meaning to build myself some new instrument cables from quality material(mogami and neutrik probably) and was wondering how long a guitar cable can be before it goes bad ? I've been using a 20ft cable as my longest cable when I need it. And for rehersal and gigs it is usually enough. But it happens I'm playing at "my own" hall, that is where I work as a FOH enginner, and during the soundcheck it would be a plus if I could be able to reach the FOH position (if i remember correcly it is about 10-13m from bass amp to FOH)

How long can i make the cable without compromising sound quality ?

Maybe I should just make two cables, one long one to use during soundcheck and another a bit shorter to use during the gig, that is long enough to get me to every part of the stage I'd need to be at without stretching in the air ?

And maybe the third one for studio use ? (since I'm using a DI for most of my work I could just pull the DI closer to the instrument)
21st October 2009
Old 21st October 2009
Lives for gear

I think you can go about 100feet before the sound quality starts to fade. but have fun keeping that thing untangled!
21st October 2009
Old 21st October 2009
Lives for gear

I was taught that they should not exceed 25 feet.

-Ben B
21st October 2009
Old 21st October 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben B View Post
I was taught that they should not exceed 25 feet.

-Ben B
same here.
21st October 2009
Old 21st October 2009
Lives for gear

A guitar cable???

Man I get nervous after 10 ft. Some of the new HD instrument cable (redco/mogami) is pretty good though and you can go longer.
21st October 2009
Old 21st October 2009
Lives for gear