The Perfect Laptop for making music!!
Old 1st September 2009
Gear interested

The Perfect Laptop for making music!!

Hey guys!!

Basically I'm looking for a nice laptop to start recording my own tracks with. So really what I want is some advice and recommendations for a laptop that can handle some good quality music production.

What specs would you recommend for the computer?
What makes and companies have you found to be easy to work with regarding recording music?

I don't want to spend anything more then £1000. So anything below that is ok.
I don't mind if you recommend a widows or apple laptop as long as you tell me why its good and what moved you to buy it!

Haven't really decided what programs I'm going to run yet but, if I got a windows laptop the DAW I'd use would be Cubase and for apple it would be logic.

For effects, I like the look of guitar rig and for a drum program I would go with easy/superior drummer

I'm a guitarist so keep that in mind when you give your recommendations.

The music I would aim to be making would be more of a rock style.

Alot of people could use this thread as a reference in the future so please don't hold back from commenting

Really look forward to your comments guys!!

P.S. If you really feel you need to, you can recommend a good desktop computer that you've had a good experience with.
Old 1st September 2009
Old 1st September 2009
Lives for gear

Old 1st September 2009
Gear interested

Ok. Alot of people have been recommending the macbook. So why is it so good? One thing I really want to know, is the OSX system stable? I know anything is better then vista atm, but is the macbook a realiable peace of kit to have?
Old 1st September 2009
Gear addict

I won't comment on what computer to buy, but make sure you have a good view on your expenses (maybe you already have that budgeted, I can't tell):
-computer/laptop
-recording interface (with DI/Hi-Z input)
-DAW software
-Guitar Rig or the like
-monitor speakers
-a few cables