Login / Register

First time recording session in a studio....help?
New Reply
Subscribe
bbboy
21st August 2009
Old 21st August 2009
Gear interested

First time recording session in a studio....help?

Well, i met some people a week ago and gave my contacts to'em. Today i recieved a call from one of the guys i talked to and he wants me to do a recording session and run pro tools with his artist tomorrow. He seems to trust me cuz i said i was a certified pro tools operator, which i am. But i have to admit i dont have any type of experience in the studio.

I know how to use pro tools cuz i use it at home all the time and i did go to a recording school. I just never had experience with workin with people in studios and stuff. It's also gonna be a hip hop recording session by the way.

I dont know anybody in real life that has music experience, so i thought i'd come here for any type of advice. I'm just really nervous that I might screw up or even mess up a whole recording session. I think they're gonna have me do everything like tellin the artist when to start a take or whatever. I don't really know any of that stuff really and i don't wanna look stupid. And i think the guy thinks I might be a pro at this stuff which is like putting more pressure on me :/

Well i'm guessing everybody had some type of experience for their first time and stuff and things they've learned or noticed. And maybe i can get some advice or some very important things to know. Or any links to things that'll help me out. I'm just really nervous right now and have no idea how things are gonna turn out and it's all happening tomorrow.
21st August 2009
Old 21st August 2009
Gear nut

Probably a few things are going to happen...

The talent is going to have an awesome take and you're going to forget to hit record.

You're going to be extra slow with mic placement and extra slow while setting up in general .

You're probably going to clip something and have to redo it.