Gearslutz.com
All Advertisers

Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 31st August 2005, 03:37 AM   #1
T_R_S
Lives for gear
 
T_R_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canuk
Posts: 3,914
Band Internet Scam BEWARE!!

Your band will get a email wanting to book you on a overseas tour. The short version is there is no contract and they want you to send money to book the PA and back line, deposit. It all sounds very legit as they know all the usual terms, Merch., Back line, Rider etc. etc.
They will also only give maybe a cell number that is not listed anywhere.
So be carefull!!!!
T_R_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 02:02 PM   #2
ProFool
Lives for gear
 
ProFool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: BELGICA, THE FLANDERS, VENICE OF THE NORTH !
Posts: 860
I had something like this last week on our band email adres, telling we all won a US greencard, lol. Asking us to send 345$ to some adres in the US, allong with a letter providing them our names, email, phone number, creditcard details etc etc

They probably took the email adres straight from our website, shame i removed the email after reading it. It was really funny, I should have posted here

grtz
__________________
I voted at www.deardigi.com
ProFool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 03:14 PM   #3
deft_bonz
Lives for gear
 
deft_bonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: switzerland
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_R_S
Your band will get a email wanting to book you on a overseas tour. The short version is there is no contract and they want you to send money to book the PA and back line, deposit. It all sounds very legit as they know all the usual terms, Merch., Back line, Rider etc. etc.
They will also only give maybe a cell number that is not listed anywhere.
So be carefull!!!!
could tell us the name of the "company"

on them
__________________

murat boeyuek pilavci
** stardustmedia ** - where stars are born
the home for high end dance music
deft_bonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st August 2005, 07:16 PM   #4
jonnyclueless
Lives for gear
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 800
"It's not scam, you just give em all your credit card numbers, and if one of em is lucky, you win a prize!" - Grandpa Simpson.
jonnyclueless is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WARNING NEW EBAY SCAM BEWARE!!!!!! T_R_S So much gear, so little time! 9 17th March 2006 04:45 PM
Beware of EBAY SCAM robchittum So much gear, so little time! 12 17th March 2004 05:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:04 PM.

 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0