Need to incorporate Protools into my studio
Old 21st March 2009
Lives for gear

Need to incorporate Protools into my studio

I have been running Cubase in my studio for about 4 years. For me it's been a great program, but I'm doing more and more work for other artist and I am getting requests for a Protools solution in my studio.

I have a second dual 1.8 G5 in the studio and I'm looking for a way to use it for a Protools station. I do not need a high end system. Sometihng that would let me run a 40 track count with a good suite of plugins.

Because Cubase is such a strong midi program and I have it stacked with 4 UAD cards I would like to be able to move projects back and forth between it and Protools, if it's possible.

I'm running an Ensemble on my Cubase system and would like to hear any ideas on what interface would be comparable for a Protools system.

I am a complete noob about Protools, so any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks
Old 21st March 2009
Gear nut

They just want protools because that is what they hear is great. You could tell people you use protools and the majority of your clients would not know you were lying.
Old 21st March 2009
Lives for gear

Do you need HD? If not, a profire 2626 with your ensamble adat in would be pretty decent. Or just get a transit and track in cubase and mix in protools when they are there.
Old 21st March 2009
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spennels View Post
They just want protools because that is what they hear is great. You could tell people you use protools and the majority of your clients would not know you were lying.
That's a good show of integrity... lie to your clients.

The Dual 1.8 is not going to cut it for Pro Tools 8. You will find PT sluggish and cumbersome on that machine.

As for which PT to buy, start with something cheap. Maybe even a used 002 or 003.