Tracking Guitars, reverb or not?
New Reply
Subscribe
J.C.
6th February 2009
Old 6th February 2009
Gear Head

Tracking Guitars, reverb or not?

Guys, I am new to recording and I was wondering if it is customary to track guitars using the amp's reverb or to do it dry and add your own ambience later? I don't have an outboard reverb but will have access to (ITB) Oxford Reverb and T-racks reverb. I will be trying to track the band in a "live" room (their practice warehouse), however if the room sounds like crap I will try and put the amp in a booth I made and re-track the guitars. Any advise will be well apreicated.

Jack
6th February 2009
Old 6th February 2009
Lives for gear

I would say go for the sound you want and if that means getting a cool sound with reverb do it.
6th February 2009
Old 6th February 2009
Lives for gear

There is no digital reverb that sounds like my 74 Twin. Although I do like TL space, but not for my guitar tones. You'll need to also know before hand how much reverb you think you'll need in the mix.

www.learningguitarnow.com
6th February 2009
Old 6th February 2009
Gear maniac

Send a message via MSN to ColourSurround Send a message via Skype™ to ColourSurround
It definitely is all about the sound you want. If you generally want a punchy and clean guitar track with a touch of verb for added depth then I say put it on afterwards so you can experiment with different styles and see which verb best fits your mix. If you're like me however and you do heavily atmospheric music and it's part of your sound (when playing live for example) than by all means record with it on. Sure you can't change it afterwards but it will give better flow to the track as that is the sound you're looking for anyway. It will also save you countless hours going mad trying to find the right verb to fit the taste of the tune afterwards.
J.C.
6th February 2009
Old 6th February 2009
Gear Head

Extra info