How does David Gilmour get that round, sweet tone?
deeper
4th October 2008
Old 4th October 2008
Lives for gear

How does David Gilmour get that round, sweet tone?

I know he uses a Strat and some sort of echo/delay device. I have a Strat but it sure doesn't sound like his, so I'm wondering if his pickups are different than mine. I also wonder what amp he used. My old Boss analog delay helps me get in his ball-park, but his sound is still fatter with tons more sustain.

I have great "finger tone" -- I've got 35 years playing experience, and I can play in many diverse styles -- rock, jazz, country... I'm good at emulating many other guitarists, but Gilmour's tone is eluding me.

I've done a search here and the threads on David Gilmour didn't provide what I was looking for. I'm not interested so much in what gear he is using now, or what outboard gear he has on his boat, but rather what guitar gear he used on the classic Pink Floyd albums years ago. You know -- pickups, pedals, amp. Any help appreciated!
4th October 2008
Old 4th October 2008
Lives for gear

Active EMGs and Hiwatt amp. And lots of vintage delay.
4th October 2008
Old 4th October 2008
Lives for gear

and compressssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssion
4th October 2008
Old 4th October 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustinAiken View Post
no active EMGs on those old records, it was a Seymour Duncan SSL-1 on the bridge and the stock fender '70(ish) pups in the other two positions on his "black strat."

he didn't start with the EMGs until the late 80s.

personally, I think 95% of his tone comes from his fingers & his brain.
4th October 2008
Old 4th October 2008
Lives for gear

yes, besides the tone from his fingers (which is awesome)

some other parts of the picture are as mentioned:

EMGs pickups , Hiwatt DR103, WEM "Super Starfinder 200" 4x12" cabs (with Fane Crescendo Speakers)

Binson EchoRec II was heavily used for delayson the records