New Reply
Subscribe
Iggy Poop
13th September 2008
Old 13th September 2008
Lives for gear

Shure M67 Mic Mixer - Question

Hi,

I acquired a Shure M67. I heard they make very interesting preamps. But i wanted to know is it ok to use phantom power (48v) through them to power a condenser mic. I'm afraid to try anything since I have no knowledge of this thing. I want to plug my condenser into the m67 and then out to my Digi 002 with 48v turned on. Will this work?
13th September 2008
Old 13th September 2008
Lives for gear

M67

Noise-Noise-Noise. The M67 has a bunch of self-noise at any usable setting on the several I've had.
The transformers are small. This is fine for dynamic mic's and ribbon mic's but high-output condensers will drive them to clipping and other distortions.

On teardown (lots of good metal connectors), M67 has a bunch of noise-generating carbon-comp resistors on the phenolic pcb.

Later models like M267 are better.

Cheers.
13th September 2008
Old 13th September 2008
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by rufus13 View Post
Noise-Noise-Noise. The M67 has a bunch of self-noise at any usable setting on the several I've had.
The transformers are small. This is fine for dynamic mic's and ribbon mic's but high-output condensers will drive them to clipping and other distortions.

On teardown (lots of good metal connectors), M67 has a bunch of noise-generating carbon-comp resistors on the phenolic pcb.

Cheers.
Will the m267 work with a condenser then? They seem to go for a bit more, like $125. Is it worth it?
13th September 2008
Old 13th September 2008
Geariophile

Get a separate phantom box and you can plug your condensers into any phantomless pre.......

The phantom needs to be between the mic and pre, and running it from your interface trying to go through the M67 won't work. If anything it might blow something in the M67, although it might have components to safeguard from this.
13th October 2009
Old 13th October 2009
Gear interested

M 67