Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!


New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th October 2004   #1
Gear nut
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 75

Thread Starter
Is this Bogus

What would you do?
I am trying to sell my SE-1

This is the email exchange I have with a guy


hello steve,
thanks for the prompt reply.i want to see a pics soon and here is my address
jebe johnson
8308 saddler- kroehler rd
north bloomfield, ohio 44450-0077 well i can,t tell what bank the chack is coming from.because i want to instruct a friend who is about to pay me the sum($2,300) for my car i sold to him.so i will instruct him to make it payable in your name.then you will deduct the amount of the SE-1 and also shipping cost.and help keep the rest till i come back from my trip.and please is the SE-1 still new.so i want you to send me your full contact address so i can forward it to him in order for you to recieve payment.and please include you phone number.

>
> I will only take a US postal money order.
> I'll have the pics for you today,
> Steve
>

hello steve,thanks for the reply.well a ue poetal money order will be fine so i will tell my friend to send you a us postal money order instead of a check.you did not send your contact address?.
regards jebe.


How hard is it to forge a US Postal Money order?
It sounds very fishy to me. I will not ship anything until the money order clears. I am definately not sending money back to him
Steve
__________________
Steve
www.stevepaulproductions.com
mixdude1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004   #2
Lives for gear
 
RoundBadge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Los Angeles ,Ca.
Posts: 8,753

Thats one of the most common scams currently going.avoid at all costs!!!!tutt tutt
RoundBadge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004   #3
Gear nut
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 75

Thread Starter
I have tried looking up his name and address.
Could not be found.

Oh well, I was hoping to have this thing sold
Steve
mixdude1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004   #4
Gear addict
 
quadwould's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: London
Posts: 443

I say.. dont give out your address.. (part of these scams is also coming to your place and burguling it!)

But give him a PoBox.. if you know of one you can access.... get the Money order, try to cash it at a post office... if its fraudulent ring the cops in his local area... the address he gave is for the shipping.. so it must be legit..(to a dergree...) may not BE his address, but AN address not the less. have the pigs check the address out...

on the other hand.... If you get the MO and actually can cash it.... Hey... cool...
quadwould is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004   #5
Lives for gear
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,134

Quote:
Is this Bogus
YEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
StoneinaPond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th October 2004   #6
Gear addict
 
Nevelicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Worcester Ma
Posts: 394

STAY THE FRICK AWAY!!!!!!!!
Nevelicious is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bogus e-bay? BrianW So much gear, so little time! 3 28th January 2006 10:13 PM
New forum thread style is bogus Rodney Gene So much gear, so little time! 9 13th November 2005 02:07 AM
OT:Bogus Second Chance offers on Ebay Timsplace So much gear, so little time! 1 15th October 2005 02:34 PM
Bogus eBay "Beatles" amplifier warning BeeGee So much gear, so little time! 0 1st May 2004 11:47 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:14 PM.

 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com Limited - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office: 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.