Is this a safe ebay bid - Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!


Is this a safe ebay bid

New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd March 2008   #1
Lives for gear
 
Hope209's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 704

Thread Starter
Is this a safe ebay bid

RME FIREFACE 800 Firewire Interface "Factory Sealed" - eBay (item 250228334132 end time Mar-26-08 16:39:23 PDT)

It's $300 off list price, I contacted the seller and his English was awfully shaky (perhaps this is a bit racist, but with so many scams on ebay...). He said its brand new and factory sealed with free shipping. What do you guys think?
Hope209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008   #2
Gear maniac
 
shaggseb's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2006
Location: Paris
Posts: 247

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hope209 View Post
What do you guys think?

I think the Fireface costs 125 bucks more on Sweetwater...
If you're not feeling safe with this eBay auction, It'll be a best move IMHO.



S.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvertone View Post
Can't anybody just be happy with the way they work without trying to sell everybody else that their way is the right way?
shaggseb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008   #3
Gear addict
 
Bondtana's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 306

I wouldnt risk it. Pay the 125 extra for sweetwater.
Bondtana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008   #4
Lives for gear
 
Rev. Robb's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 812

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bondtana View Post
I wouldnt risk it. Pay the 125 extra for sweetwater.
I am with this guy. Peace of mind is priceless!!
Rev. Robb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2008   #5
Gear addict
 
Poplab Studios's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2006
Location: ·:*¨PlanetPop¨*:·.
Posts: 474

Why do you think it looks fishy or what makes you unsure?
For me it looks like a legit auction, but please don´t take my word for it, it´s just my opinion.
I would make him an offer, he sold 2 Firefaces for 1290.- before, so maybe he´ll accept your offer, and then you get a great deal, right?

Just my 2 cents.
Poplab Studios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008   #6
Gear Guru
 
Sounds Great's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 15,303

He only has one negative feedback, and that from a guy that has 6. Sounds like a good seller with a good price. Save the money and go for it.
__________________
http://soundcloud.com/sounds-great-1

-Rob

And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They're quite aware of what they're going through
Sounds Great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008   #7
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 638

Send a message via Skype™ to mohthom
Ask sweetwater to meet you half way?

MohThoM
mohthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008   #8
Gear maniac
 
matt2525's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 282

Can't see anything dodgy looking about this - the guy regularly sells these units, and has had positive feedback for it - any ebay purchase is a bit risky if its not from a registered company, but I've had plenty of great buys on some pretty expensive gear, including international purchases. If it was me I'd put in an offer (the listing is buy it now or best offer), and see what price you can get it for. As poplab says, he's sold them before for $1290 , so try offering him around $1300 and see if he goes for it. If he wants the asking price, you're only saving $125, so its up to you whether that's a worthwhile saving for your peace of mind, but if you can talk him down a bit, you've got a bargain! Good luck!
matt2525 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008   #9
Gear maniac
 
willythekid's Avatar
 
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 150

The guy is probably OK, but I would still never buy anything that expensive on Ebay. Buying on Ebay is always a bit of a lottery, lots of honest people out there but also lots of crooks. 80% of my Ebay purchases have been OK, but in 20% of the cases the stuff I bought was broken or in a bad condition. If the Fireface doesn't work when you get it, the seller might tell you that the damage happened in the shipping and that it's not his fault. RME might tell you that the warranty doesn't cover that type of damages, and the shipping company will tell you that that they're not responsible and that you should have paid for some expensive shipping warranty.

-wtk
__________________
WILLYTHEKID
______________________________
Slut without gear
willythekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th March 2008   #10
Lives for gear
 
Mike Brown's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 3,188

I agree that the auction looks ok... but try calling sweetwater up and seeing if they will give you a deal. I've gotten some steals away from them by just asking.

RME is a great unit btw! Congrats!
Mike Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do these ebay auctions look safe? Jpec Music computers 2 7th August 2006 01:09 PM
Lost eBay bid - Aaargh! kennyd03 The Moan Zone 17 6th July 2005 03:01 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:04 AM.

Home - Search Forum - Contact Us - Terms Of Use - Advertise on Gearslutz - All Advertisers - Archive - Top
 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com LTD - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office - 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.
Hosted by Nimbus Hosting.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.