Login / Register

Furman RV-1 spring reverb... how to add balanced XLR's?
New Reply
Subscribe
Marlowe
10th March 2008
Old 10th March 2008
Lives for gear

Furman RV-1 spring reverb... how to add balanced XLR's?

I just picked up a Furman RV-1 and it comes with unbalanced 1/4 ins & outs but has holes cut in the chassis for mounting balanced XLR ins & outs.

Has anyone here added the balanced jacks? How easy a job is it to do?

Thanks,

Marlowe
10th March 2008
Old 10th March 2008
Lives for gear

Send a message via Skype™ to lozion
I have one also and was wondering the same thing, have you opened it yet?
Please post pics if you do,
Cheers,
13th March 2008
Old 13th March 2008
Lives for gear

13th March 2008
Old 13th March 2008
Lives for gear

Marlowe
13th March 2008
Old 13th March 2008
Lives for gear

Thanks Kiwi, but the other half of the question for me is: how is it done on the rv-1 specifically? I opened it up and, as an electronics novice, I couldn't figure out what's what in there.
13th March 2008
Old 13th March 2008
Lives for gear

how many springs are actually in the rv-1, 3?
13th March 2008
Old 13th March 2008
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marlowe View Post
Thanks Kiwi, but the other half of the question for me is: how is it done on the rv-1 specifically? I opened it up and, as an electronics novice, I couldn't figure out what's what in there.

I don't have an RV-1, but the basic principles of connecting unbalanced to balanced is covered in that Jensen pdf. You can see that there are various methods, and some are better than others. I would be inclined to buy the best Jensen transformer for the job and wire it up as suggested.

If you aren't confident with a soldering iron, you could simply buy an Ebtech Line Level Shifter with XLR's and connect it with short cables. Or maybe remove the transformers and XLRs and install them inside the RV-1.