RME converters
New Reply
Subscribe
tamasdragon
14th December 2007
Old 14th December 2007
Lives for gear

RME converters

How the rme adi8ds/qs stands if we're comparing to apogee and the like?
Please suggest, but need real opinions.
Tamas Dragon
14th December 2007
Old 14th December 2007

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brownsound View Post
I've been using ADI-8 DS's in my home/portable rig for a few years now and am really happy with them.

I use Apogee/Prism etc in commercial studios and the RME's are certainly in the same league.
Oh my.

They most certainly are not in the same league. Prism are out there in crystal clear land - apogee are good for the price, same with RME. A man with your impressive credits should know better !! . Understood - in a good room wih good mics an playrs and technical know how they'll do the job fin. I wouldn want to track the LSO with em though!!

As an subjective overview RME are hard and thin sounding but definitely worth the money - cuz they're cheap!!. They are in no way comparable to Prism ADA. I have RMEs in our writing rooms and ADAs in one of the recording rooms. Use stock digi converters in the other recording room but am upgrading in he new year to lynx.

RME stuff is fine for he price but they are in no way great converters. They do the job but are not outstanding - especially as DA's.
14th December 2007
Old 14th December 2007

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brownsound View Post
Each to his own
absolutely !!
tamasdragon
15th December 2007
Old 15th December 2007
Lives for gear

Did not want to compare it to prism. But what about apogee and rme adi8? I would like to know that. Peel off the hype built around apogee please.
I need them for ad.
Tamas Dragon
15th December 2007
Old 15th December 2007
Lives for gear