Barefoot MM27 in COSMOS STUDIOS!
New Reply
Subscribe
delcosmos
29th October 2007
Old 29th October 2007

Barefoot MM27 in COSMOS STUDIOS!

Hi Gearslutz,

Last week I received a pair of Barefoor MM27 that waited in the Basement of my studio till I finished 3 projects with very tight dead lines.

I wanted to mix the last song of those projects with the Barefoots, I know this is a very risky decision with a new set of monitors but hey, I don't have time!!!

My current set consists in a pair of SA3a with sub10, a pair of NS10 and a big Quested speakers with a big sub.

I installed the MM27s, and the first thing I noticed was their weight, oh my god they weight a lot!! Also, their construction is amazing, built like a tank but at the same time the design is so beautiful.

I decided to begin a mix on them because that is the best way to judge a studio monitors.

I've been using my S3a for almost 4 years and I know them very well, so after I started with the MM27, the first thing I noticed and LOVED was how accurate they are on the "low end" department, wow, this is something I always complained about my adams, because IMHO S3a with a sub are a little bit confusing on the low end, there's a hole between the sub and the speakers, also the barefoots gave me a good reference on the very high freq. spectrum, something that definitely S3a doesn't have.
It was very easy for me to sit my kick and bass on my mix without a problem, also, since the low freq. were not masking or covering the mids and hi freq's it was very easy to find a good place for my vocals, the levels between subs, lows, mids and hi's are perfect.
So I finished my mix and after some listenings in my car and my boombox I send it to the label without surprises, the mix was exactly as I mixed it at my place. C'mon! this was my first time with those speakers and I was able to deliver a mix that translate really well to other systems!!!