Beware, paypal phishing scam! - Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!


Beware, paypal phishing scam!

New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th October 2007   #1
Lives for gear
 
heathen's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,525

Thread Starter
Beware, paypal phishing scam!

Beware of Paypal phishing scams, 2 were attempted on me in the last few days.


They start with "Dear valued customer", paypal will never send an email like this, they will always use your real name.

Don't get sucked in.
heathen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007   #2
Gear nut
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 93

also there's one where they pretend to say you've achieved ebay power seller status. This is sorta a variation on the usual schemes (either something is very wrong so login, or you just won x, etc. so login).
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007   #3
Gear Head
 
benversluis's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2006
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 41

If you use the newest version of Firefox, it does a REALLY nice job of identifying which sites are scam sites and which are legit. I really recommend using it if you're not already.
benversluis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007   #4
Gear Head
 
Joined: Apr 2006
Location: vancouver
Posts: 30

I got a a phishy email from , w w w . p a y p a I . c o m notice the (I). made me do double read.

Rj
SpaceShipStudio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007   #5
Gear Guru
 
AllAboutTone's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: S.Carolina
Posts: 11,480

Quote:
Originally Posted by benversluis View Post
If you use the newest version of Firefox, it does a REALLY nice job of identifying which sites are scam sites and which are legit. I really recommend using it if you're not already.
Firefox here, btw im listed as a power seller, im always telling ebay when they email me to beef it up ot lose it, I just tell them flat out to kiss it and take it away, i don't want it anyway. Thanks for the heads up though.
__________________
Don't Fu*k with my Tone !!!.
I need a spell check app
Harrison~ API~ Dan Alexander~ Fuchs~ John Hardy~ JLM~ Urei/UA

Fuchs Amps = Amazing Tone !!
AllAboutTone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007   #6
Gear Guru
 
Sounds Great's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 15,303

This has been going on for years now. Also with banks, credit card providers, etc.

Never respond to any email of any kind with log in, password, account info, etc. If you think it may be legit, close the email and log into the actual vender website to be sure.
__________________
http://soundcloud.com/sounds-great-1

-Rob

And these children that you spit on
As they try to change their worlds
Are immune to your consultations
They're quite aware of what they're going through
Sounds Great is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2007   #7
Gear nut
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 93

yeah I noted the mis-spelling. paypai off by one letter, another common scam.
davioh is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ebay SM57 scam Beware Jim Easton High end 0 5th March 2007 08:42 AM
Possible Paypal Scam? GPl The Moan Zone 4 26th December 2005 12:32 AM
Band Internet Scam BEWARE!! T_R_S So much gear, so little time! 3 31st August 2005 07:16 PM
Beware of EBAY SCAM robchittum So much gear, so little time! 12 17th March 2004 04:27 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:43 PM.

Home - Search Forum - Contact Us - Terms Of Use - Advertise on Gearslutz - All Advertisers - Archive - Top
 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com LTD - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office - 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.
Hosted by Nimbus Hosting.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.