Gearslutz.com
All Advertisers

Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16th October 2008, 02:25 AM   #121
iLCacciLLo
Gear Head
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 44
I've seen those mics on ebay, and I suspected from the cheap price. I even went to shure website to see if they had a new 57 more affordable version, due to the low price showing on ebay.


After some months a friend of mine got one of those microphones. We opened it , and after removing the resin/glue we found the chinese paper, and also the transformer bobin without wire.
The wires also, were not yellow and green , like with the original 57 and 58.


So things to look for are:

-How much does it weight?

-Does it have a transformer? is the output balanced?

-Colour of the wires attaching from the bottom part(XLR) to the upper part(diaphragm) , they should be green and yellow

Im pretty shure that the fake mics are the same as sold with the Tbone and Fame brands.
iLCacciLLo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2008, 11:19 AM   #122
Ludwig
Gear addict
 
Ludwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 312
I got caught with the same scam. The seller I bought off though wasn't even aware his account had been used to sell fake items.

If the deal looks too good to be true, it almost definately is as far as new SM57's are concerned.
Ludwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 07:12 PM   #123
Tim
Gear addict
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Santa Barbara / Woodland Hills
Posts: 394
Leather?
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 07:27 PM   #124
Michael_Joly
Lives for gear
 
Michael_Joly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Springfield, MA - Working on mics 16 hrs / day
Posts: 1,765
Here's a FREE DIY mod for the ES-58 (et al) mics floating around that are imitation SM-58s. Allows you to tune or eliminate the presence boost built into these mics. Happy Holidays! best, M
Michael_Joly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th November 2008, 08:23 PM   #125
hugo_zair
Gear interested
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay Kahrs View Post
Wow. CraZy.

So you said that you bought these from a local dealer? Where did THEY get them from?!?
It's not hard. Try googling on "sm57 wholesale china" or "sm57hot selling"
here's just two of dozens of results.
Hot selling!!Free shipping SM57 microphone mic brand new in box SM57LC 10pcs retail box SM57 LC 1786227 China Wholesale 2008-11-30 11:23:55

China wholesale+ freeshipping NEWEST SM 57 S Vocal Microphone Mic (20piece / lot).HOT SELLING on TradeTang.com

Another clue posted by many folk on other forums is that Shure ALWAYS use yellow and green wires from the capsule to the body. Fakes apparently have red/green.
hugo_zair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th June 2009, 11:05 PM   #126
beatnik
Gear interested
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
hi guys!

i have bought two sm57 here in italy.

i have seen many articles on the web about spotting fake chinese copies.

i am confused on mines... they have some details of the original and some of the fakes.

- green and yellow wiring (both on the capsule and on the xlr connector, the original should have blue and red on the connector)

- weight is 240 grams (original rated 284)

- three holes in the bottom

- on xlr connector i have marks for pin1,2,3 and shure, and also the silver line

- resistance between pins 2 and 3 is 600 ohms (i've heard it must be 400)

- the package contains all but the user guide and the sticker look very poor quality. the bag is the bigger one and has a "made in china" label inside.

what do you think about them?
beatnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2009, 05:01 AM   #127
elmostephane
Gear Head
 
elmostephane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 32
I'm thinking reviving this thread pob isn't the greatest thing seeming as everyone really says the same thing... Anyway, here's my bit:

Just bought one off ebay, had had another one off an auth reseller. they are both the same except the finish, all wiring, pouch, etc is the same. the ebay one weights slightly less, but the thing that really gives it out:

recorded 10sec of acoustic guitars with both mics:

ebay(fake) one has a higher output and harsher sound
real one has a bit more low mids and lower output.


Hope this helps, but my advice is:

You won't know if you got a fake one until you put it to the test with a real one...
elmostephane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2009, 05:12 AM   #128
musikwerks
Lives for gear
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 772
Great thread, but if I was a counterfeiter I'd be studying all your close up pics and detailed descriptions and taking notes. The next wave off knock offs will be hard to pick now!
musikwerks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 04:33 PM   #129
Chrislpp
Lives for gear
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 672
Many just realized they have fake 57's

Quit ruining the placebos!!!!
Chrislpp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2009, 05:27 PM   #130
bmdaugherty
Gear maniac
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 206
I also have a very early sm57. So early that it still says "unidyne III, Shure Brothers Incorporated, SM57, made in the USA". See my picture below for an explanation of the second hole on older mics. I am positive that mine is not a fake, but it also has the ever-so-slightly recessed xlr connection as the fakes have.

What gives it away for me more than anything is that the real ones seem to have solid pins on the xlr out, but the fakes appear to have hollow folded pins common in cheap manufacturing.

They must have stolen the old design...
Attached Thumbnails
fake-shure-sm57s-including-pics-dsc_0016.jpg   fake-shure-sm57s-including-pics-dsc_0017.jpg  
bmdaugherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 01:03 AM   #131
Demonslave
Gear maniac
 
Demonslave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago Southside
Posts: 238
Exclamation I'm gonna

Have a close friend that works for Shure here in chicago take a look at this thread and I will post with feedback as soon as I hear back, he is at the Grammys so it may be a day or two.
__________________
Inside a Dream........................
Dungeon of Noise Recording Studio Alsip, IL Located in the Former ARS studios location. One of Chicago's oldest recording rooms in operation.
708-629-0599
312-933-0113
Protools HD
24 Track Analog
www.myspace.com/Dungeonofnoisestudio
Contact:
DungeonOfNoiseStudio@yahoo.com
312.933.0113
Demonslave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 01:06 AM   #132
Joe_caithness
Gear addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 379
Send a message via MSN to Joe_caithness
I have a fake BETA57... I took it apart and all the shure markings inside are wierd/wrong
__________________
Subsequent Mastering: http://www.subsequentmastering.com

Affordable, Friendly, Musician led service
Joe_caithness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 03:31 AM   #133
yobyddet
Gear interested
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
hi TS,
do anyone here have info how to recognize the real shureSM58 with the fake one...
thank you for the info
:D
yobyddet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shure SM57's FAKE !!!!!!! ????? cosmos So much gear, so little time! 68 2nd June 2009 04:52 AM
US made Shure SM57's vs. Mexican SM57's? chessparov So much gear, so little time! 6 26th August 2006 03:38 PM
working in the studio pics (post pics of your sessions) Jason Poulin High end 0 9th October 2005 07:35 PM
Old vs. new SM57's blackcom So much gear, so little time! 11 18th January 2005 05:44 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:38 PM.

 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0
You Rated this Thread: