Daniel Lanois talks about recording.
Old 9th August 2007
Gear Head

Daniel Lanois talks about recording.

For all you Lanois fans. Ironically, the audio quality is HORRIBLE.

Part 1

Part 2

I can't find the albums he talks about. It is however a very interesting interview and look forward to seeing his "movie". I am a big fan of his music and philopsohy.
<p>
<p>
<p>
<p>
Old 21st January 2008
Lives for gear

100% Dynamite

Check out Amazon.com.

3rd&4thT
Old 21st January 2008
Lives for gear

I can tell by a lot of his analogies that he knows a lot about photography. I wonder how many musician/engineers are like that. I just noticed that since I'm a photographer.
Old 21st January 2008
Lives for gear

Daniel's brother Bob Lanois is a pretty accomplished photographer. He's well known in Canada, at least. Between Dan's own photography and that of Bob's, you are right that he knows the art pretty well.
Old 21st January 2008
Gear maniac

can't wait to hear what george massenburg thinks.
Old 21st January 2008
Gear maniac

Thanks Roy, enjoying stuff...Lanois fan.
Old 21st January 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Harter View Post
I can't find the albums he talks about. It is however a very interesting interview and look forward to seeing his "movie". I am a big fan of his music and philopsohy.
I think that's the one he mentions in Part 1: Amazon.com: 100% Dynamite!: Music: Various Artists

I'm glad that he talks about the importence of the great old Jamaican recordings, I think that these are still underrated in audio circles. Just think how many techniques started out in Jamaica (remixing, dub, even rap in a way with 'toasting')

I also liked his 'who need 40k' thoughts, it's truly ironic when the 'specs' get better all the time (at least on paper) but the playback fidelity gets worse with mp3, etc (unfortunately for real).
Old 21st January 2008
Lives for gear

Very cool. Thanks for posting.
Big fan Of DL and of ribbon mics thumbsup
Old 21st January 2008
Lives for gear