Login / Register

Why are some microphones so sought after?
New Reply
Subscribe
FatBassPlayer
2nd August 2007
Old 2nd August 2007
Gear maniac

Why are some microphones so sought after?

I've been working my ass off to get myself a vintage mic. Finishing college and saving is a big venture, and before I go out and buy a telefunken u47, or a clone I have some questions.

Is there a reason that this mic is very sought after? I feel like I'm trying to recreate a sound that was big not because of the gear, but because of the singer.

Did the engineers that put a mic in front of the singers of yester years really dwell on the mic, or did they just throw any good quality mic in front of the singer just to get it on tape?

Isn't technology suppose to get better as we progress or did the mic making field peak with the telefunken u47.

Sorry to be so analytical but I AM studying computer science.
2nd August 2007
Old 2nd August 2007
Gear addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by FatBassPlayer View Post
I've been working my ass off to get myself a vintage mic. Finishing college and saving is a big venture, and before I go out and buy a telefunken u47, or a clone I have some questions.

1. Is there a reason that this mic is very sought after? I feel like I'm trying to recreate a sound that was big not because of the gear, but because of the singer.

2. Did the engineers that put a mic in front of the singers of yester years really dwell on the mic, or did they just throw any good quality mic in front of the singer just to get it on tape?

3. Isn't technology suppose to get better as we progress or did the mic making field peak with the telefunken u47.

Sorry to be so analytical but I AM studying computer science.
IMHO

1.- You do not need a $5k plus mic to get a good sound. The more you spend, naturally the quality becomes better but that nessasarily does not mean its guaranteed to sound amazing on all things.