Is this an Ebay scam - Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!


Is this an Ebay scam

New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th July 2007   #1
Lives for gear
 
bexarametric's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,088

Thread Starter
Is this an Ebay scam

I recently hosted an auction for a DIGI001. The person that won the auction contacted me and asked me to send it to Stamford, CT because they're moving (via private message). Now, their Paypal name was different than the name of the person that contacted me on Ebay. So is the address. Do you think they highjacked someone's info and started bidding away? Their bidding on their profile goes back two years. I don't want to be involved with a scam. The person involved has 90% positive feedback on 10 auctions. Your thoughts.
__________________
Kevin J. Deal
GC Pro - Dallas, TX
Sales Associate
C - 214.471.9563
kdeal@gcpro.com
http://www.gcpro.com/
bexarametric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007   #2
Lives for gear
 
yumdrum's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2006
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1,065

Make sure ALL your communication is done through e-bay. No private e-mails. CYA
__________________
Turd Polisher Extraordinaire
yumdrum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007   #3
Gear nut
 
FW Harper's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 75

Could be a friend/spouse/significant whatever using someone else's account. I've seen that. Call Paypal and see what you can find out. Get them to contact the account holder.
FW Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007   #4
Gear maniac
 
Chris Williams's Avatar
 
Joined: Jun 2007
Location: Kent, England
Posts: 289

Always do your business through the ebay system as much as possible.

I recently won an auction for an item in the states and about 10 minutes after I won the auction, I received an email (to my eBay email addy) saying to send the money via paypal to a different address using paypal etc.

No Idea how they got my eBay email addy but after replying to their email telling them I had sent them the details through the ebay system and contacted the seller they stopped emailing.

Even if you get an email from "eBay", never click it. In this day and age there are too many scams and eBay seems to be the target of most of them.
__________________
LOL - Internets

Chris Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2007   #5
Lives for gear
 
jsteiger's Avatar
 
Joined: Nov 2006
Location: Suburban Chicago
Posts: 821

PayPal

If you use PayPal, tell them you can only ship to the verified address they use when paying via PayPal. From what I understand, it's the only way you as a seller are protected.
__________________
Visit our Internet Store featuring EA replica A*P*I transformers, killer aluminum knobs and more...www.classicapi.com

GroupDIY 51x Racks
jsteiger is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look out for this one: Ebay Scam Jax The Moan Zone 2 15th January 2007 03:13 AM
possible ebay scam?! PlugHead The Moan Zone 2 27th April 2006 12:04 AM
So..is this an ebay scam? XHipHop So much gear, so little time! 11 20th November 2005 05:09 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Home - Search Forum - Contact Us - Terms Of Use - Advertise on Gearslutz - All Advertisers - Archive - Top
 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com LTD - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office - 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.
Hosted by Nimbus Hosting.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.