Toft ATB user updates?
New Reply
Subscribe
timsmolens
25th July 2007
Old 25th July 2007
Gear interested

Toft ATB user updates?

We have heard lots of first impression reviews from new owners. But can someone give us the " i have been using it for a few months now and...." update.

I am curious about the mic pre's... will they break up ( in a good way) if pushed too hard, like a Neve 1272 or telefunken V72 will?

How is the digital option?

What are your favorite and least favorite features of the console?

thanks in advance,
Tim
25th July 2007
Old 25th July 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by timsmolens View Post
We have heard lots of first impression reviews from new owners. But can someone give us the " i have been using it for a few months now and...." update.

I am curious about the mic pre's... will they break up ( in a good way) if pushed too hard, like a Neve 1272 or telefunken V72 will?

1: I don't know. I use line ins only.
2: Nobody knows this. They haven't released the card.
3: Favorite feature? It looks like it sounds good and it does.
Least favorite ? NO METERBRIDGE. All those red LEDs lighting up. (I use tape).

As one of the pilot program owners, I believe I do have a right to offer my opinions and thoughts on the mixer. We tried to have this very discussion a while back and it got off track. Can we have an honest discussion about the Toft ATB ?
25th July 2007
Old 25th July 2007
Lives for gear

"I am curious about the mic pre's... will they break up"
Yes.
"in a good way"
No
"like a Neve 1272 or telefunken V72"
Dream on, Brother.
"What are your favorite "
Easy, the EQ, followed by the looks.
"least favorite features"
I think there were some missed opportunities regarding features. I know there was a big premium on getting the sound at a certain price point. Little things that would make my life easier are:

Solo for monitor returns. (my biggest complaint)
That elusive digital i/o card.
A & B two track tape sends/returns.