Dress to Impress.... Studio Bling???
Old 22nd March 2004
Lives for gear

Dress to Impress.... Studio Bling???

You know what really drives me nuts... I was going to put this in the moan zoan but this belongs here. As an engineer I do not care what is in my rack, as long as it is a useful tool. As a musician, I really do not care about what a studio looks like, I just care about the product that the engineer can put out. But it seems that most kids now look for the lights and faders. The reason why I say this is because of a guy that I know, locally, with a fantastic background in pro audio. He has a Digi 001 and Peak, Panasonic and Lavery Converters, Groove Tubes Vipre, Distressor, C2, DAT, Vocal Booth, and a Blue Cactus. He mostly does R&B and has churned out hits when working at Hit Factory in NY. The stuff he is doing now is just as good. I have been very impressed. But since his rig is small... people refuse to go to him. They walk in and say.... "thats it? I am not paying $35 an hour for this" (He really is undercharging) They want the whole stereotypical picture of a studio.

Anyway.... not to say I do not like the look of gear.... man I LOVE the look of a sexy piece. I call it "THE AVALON SYNDROME". Its just plain ignorance is really bugging me.

So.... Do any of you feel this same pressure of lighting up your racks, and making sure there is enough.... dare I say.... COSMETICS....
Old 22nd March 2004
Lives for gear

I think Funk Logic makes some "gear" to address this issue.
Old 22nd March 2004
Lives for gear

HAHAHAHHA!!!!!! I admit it! I Admit it!!! I have the Palandrometer!!!!
Old 22nd March 2004
Gear addict