compression
New Reply
Subscribe
el_cesar
11th April 2007
Old 11th April 2007
Gear interested

compression

Hello im new to recording, can anyone explain compression for me? thank you very much!
11th April 2007
Old 11th April 2007
Lives for gear

one of my favorite compressors is only $1350 and includes a manual that explains exactly how and why it works.
11th April 2007
Old 11th April 2007
Lives for gear

Here is some pretty basic info on compression:

http://www.audiocourses.com/article114.html

Do a google search and search the forums hear for more info. It's best to just get a compressor or a plug in and see what it does, to get an idea of what it can do for you, but you need to learn what all the knobs do first, or you might be very confused.

http://www.myspace.com/mattdistad
http://www.myspace.com/froghollowdaycamp
11th April 2007
Old 11th April 2007
Gear addict

its opposite of rarefraction
11th April 2007
Old 11th April 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by el_cesar View Post
Hello im new to recording, can anyone explain compression for me? thank you very much!
Ever heard of Google?...

I'ts this amazing internet search engine that can be used to answer seemingly millions of simple questions. Hey I just tried it and I put 'how does an audio compressor work' into it, guess what it brought up a page with soo many links and information on it.

Like this one: http://www.harmony-central.com/Effec...s/Compression/

Wow!!!!!! - isn't it amazing when you apply yourself just a little itsy ickle bit.

Tell you something, you wanna' keep away from that Google thingy, it's all witchcraft y'know - strange unexplainable witch trickery.

~ peace ~
11th April 2007
Old 11th April 2007
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Send a message via Skype™ to jdjustice
ok.

compression (sometimes referred to as audio level compression) is the process of reducing the dynamic range of given programme material.