Mixing Board to Mbox
New Reply
Subscribe
nateparker584
8th April 2007
Old 8th April 2007
Gear interested

Mixing Board to Mbox

Hey all!! New to the forums...so forgive me if i have posted this in the wrong area Anyways iam one of the many home studio guru's out there. Im running Imac G5, Mbox, protools, reason, krk monitors, 2 neuman condensors, glyphs, ya know the usual. Anyways i recently came across a steal on a behringer pmx 3000 board. A friend of mine got it and used it once then was desperate for money and sold it to me for 99 bucks e. Now i know behringer isnt the best but for that price i figured why not. Anyways, im a pro on the computer, but lack in the knowledge of hookin the crap up lol. So i was wondering if anyone could tell me how to hook the board up through mbox. The board is powered and so are my monitors so i really dunno what to do. Any help would be much appreciated. TY
8th April 2007
Old 8th April 2007
Gear nut

Since that Behringer board is meant more for driving a PA (and since it's a Behringer) the specs for it don't list any balanced outputs, so you're gonna have to run unbalanced cables out from the "Main 1" or "Main 2" outputs on the board (not the jacks on the back, those supply power to speakers) into the preamps (In 1-2) on the MBox. If somehow the Behringer has balanced outputs, you could run them through the Inserts on the Mbox and avoid running the signal through two sets of pres. If you were running better pres on your board I'd say going through the inserts would be better, but really in this case you're probably no worse off running it through the MBox as well.

The monitors will still connect to the line out jacks on your MBox (using a 1/4" balanced TRS cable). DO NOT try and connect them to the speaker outputs on the powered mixer. If you did manage to convert the plug ends, you'd probably destroy your speakers. Besides, the Mbox will only output through its own line outs anyway.