...and the winner is... - Gearslutz.com

Gearslutz.com

All Advertisers
Go Back   Gearslutz.com > The Forums > So much gear, so little time!


...and the winner is...

New Reply New Reply Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2004   #1
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Outer New York
Posts: 205

Thread Starter
...and the winner is...

Let the buyer beware on eBay:

Poor JH, he so badly wanted this new GML9500 for $3550. I wrote to tell him of my suspicions and that he shouldn't send this creep any money. Here's the email the seller sent him:


"Hello there
i see u are the winner of my auction ....
u can see al the detailes about the item desc.
i will thell you about how will finish this deal
Here you have the detailes to finish the transaction:
Let's start with the shipping of the unit
Shipping Options:
(1)FedEx Service
(2)UPS Service
(3)DHL Service

I would prefere UPS service because i've used before and i know
how it works.If you have other preferences it won't be any problem.
When the unit it will be shipped,the package it will be insured for
3550USD
I will make a Return Policy for 5 days.You will have 5 days to test the
conditions of the unit.

Regarding payment:
Payment must be recived trough wire transfers, like Western Union or
Money Gram Service.

This are the options for payment and shipping.Now,look how it will go
the deal:
-(1)the buyer will mail me his shipping address and chouse via wich
service does he want me to ship the unit.After i receive this
informations i will call at the delivery service and ask what it will be
the total cost for sending the unit to buyers address.Then i will reply
you back with the total amount that you must pay for geting the
unit(including shipping charges).Once i will have buyers confirmation
that he do agree with the price ,i will call at the delivery service and
make the rezervation for shipping the unit.In the same day ,i will go
with the unit to the delivery service so they can pack it verry good,to
not apper any damages when it will be delivered.
-(2)After the rezervation is done,the buyer must go to send the payment.
-(3)The buyer must confirm to the seller that the payment are made.
-(4)Once i will have the confirmation of the payment ,i will call to the
delivery service and let the package be shipped.

So this is the deal.You will have 7 days Return Policy .In this 7 days
you will test the conditions of the unit.In case the unit won't be like
i've told you,then you can return it back(i will support the taxes for
returning the unit back).When you will return the unit ,the delivery
service will give you back your money,that you have paid for the
unit.This is the return policy."


Here's the rest of this crook's auctions:

http://cgi6.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dl...sort=3&rows=25

Hmmm, well...it's probably OK...
TheTruffleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2004   #2
Gear nut
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Sunny Santa Fe
Posts: 91

WoW.
No feedback, not registered, located in England, only accepts wire transfers, no English. This guy set off all the alarms, all the red lights are flashing. Danger, Danger, Will Robinson!
And, yet, all of his auctions had "winners", some with dozens of bids.

Unbelievable.

I hope the bidder "mavrodi" is this guys brother or something otherwise he stands to lose a lot of money.


Scott
Scott Shane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2004   #3
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Outer New York
Posts: 205

Thread Starter
All that glitters is not gear

Well, there appears to be some rather obvious shill bidding in most of the auctions-multiple "0" rated, newly registered bidders running up the bids. The amazing thing, to me, are the bids by experienced eBayers who should know better (much better).

I emailed all the winners with some words of warning. Two of them emailed me back with their concerns, and yet...they are still willing to hold out the possibility that their auctions are genuine.

Talk about denial!
TheTruffleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2004   #4
Gear addict
 
Buddhaman's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 458

Truffleman!!

I am moist pro atr audio and ebay

been lookibng for the sony dmx Board for Rap recording...

also HD accel for speed metal and faster punk ...

I maybe can win them and be more moist

Buddhaman
Buddhaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004   #5
Gear maniac
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Outer New York
Posts: 205

Thread Starter
That's great Bud, make fun of the Anglo tongue-challenged...thumbsup thumbsup
TheTruffleKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004   #6
Gear maniac
 
johnnyblotter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 205

anyone requesting payment through Western Union or a similar service only is a scam artist. Also, when a seller like this has lots of good past feedback, they've usually hijacked someone's account. The person who got hijacked often doesn't find out about it until later. Or, they've sold a bunch of cheap products to build feedback so they can make the big kill. Is there any feedback this person has left for others? Is the poor grammar consistent? I bet more research would yield some pretty clear clues. Someone is about to lose a lot of money, so I'd email the bidders again and tell them to STAY AWAY. Even if the seller has some supposed safe and secure way of completing the sale, don't buy it...this one has all the earmarks of a classic ebay scam.
johnnyblotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004   #7
Gear maniac
 
johnnyblotter's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 205

crap it looks like the guys auctions are all finished. Yeah I hope mavrodi isn't some ebay newbie getting suckered big time...
johnnyblotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004   #8
Lives for gear
 
MIKEHARRIS's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Location: MIAMI FLA
Posts: 1,685

dont these prices send up a red flag...and the 480 is out of production almost two years.. "NEW" ??
__________________
harrisaudiosystems.com
MIKEHARRIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004   #9
Lives for gear
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,716

Beware of anything from England. No offense to the British, it's just that a lot of ebay scams are from "England" so you won't be as suspicious as you would be with say, Nigeria.
jbuntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2004   #10
Lives for gear
 
kittonian's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,324

I looked at the DM2000 auction for a client the other day and actually contacted this joker. After two messages I finally got an e-mail back that didn't address any of my questions and just told me the unit was new (HA!). I e-mailed him back saying that even his picture showed the unit in a flight case and before I sent that e-mail I did some more digging. Turns out the picture is from another website and I contacted that company and spoke with the owner who told me that they have been having problems with scammers using their images and have even alerted eBay (which did nothing btw). He confirmed that this is indeed a scam and if you look at the seller's information you can see that eBay suspended his account.

So I went ahead and sent the e-mail and told him what I'd found out. He never responded.

It truly sucks that people are doing this sort of thing. Society truly is screwed these days.
__________________
Joshua Aaron
President/Chief Engineer
AudioLot/AudioLot Studios
High End Pro Audio Sales & Consulting
Recording/Music Production/Mixing

http://www.audiolot.com

Follow AudioLot on Facebook for AudioLot's BIG DEAL Gear Specials, Morning Mix Tips, and more by clicking here

AudioLot is located in Hollywood, CA.

If you're in the LA area and are interested in coming by to see any of the gear we carry in person, please let us know.
kittonian is offline   Reply With Quote
New Reply New Reply Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook  Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter  Submit Thread to LinkedIn LinkedIn 



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread starter Forum Replies Last Post
AND THE WINNER IS!!! Tonelux Name the Box Contest ToneLux Product Alerts older than 2 months 29 31st August 2007 07:47 AM
A/B Test ( Converters) - 002 Vs. 1814 --- And the winner is... ? Freddo30 Music computers 8 27th April 2007 11:55 PM
And the winner is...... Jules So much gear, so little time! 5 9th October 2005 07:56 PM
And the winner is... Max So much gear, so little time! 22 5th April 2004 05:08 PM
And the winner is........ Slipperman The Good News Channel 0 30th December 2002 08:05 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:54 AM.

Home - Search Forum - Contact Us - Terms Of Use - Advertise on Gearslutz - All Advertisers - Archive - Top
 
 
Powered by vBulletin®
Gearslutz.com LTD - UK Company Number 7597610.
Registered Office - 35 Ballards Lane, London, N3 1XW.
Hosted by Nimbus Hosting.

SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.