Recording Workshop - Chillicothe, Ohio
Old 1st February 2007
Lives for gear

Recording Workshop - Chillicothe, Ohio

I've been running a home based project studio for several years and am starting to get great results and a good bit of business. I want to take my skills to the next level and am wondering about Recording Workshop in Ohio.

Anyone have any experience or knowledge about it?
Old 1st February 2007
Gear Head

Yea I went there. It's a decent way to get your hands on some big time equipment, but I didn't learn/retain much from only a 5 week course. Do it if you have a little dough to spend, and can get away for 5 weeks or so. Besides that course, I've learned most of what I know from mags like EQ, Recording, Mix, and just by teaching myself. I say if you have the time and if you have about $3000.00 to spare, check it out. There are worse things to spend your money on.. Bart
Old 1st February 2007
Lives for gear

I was there 17 years ago, so I bet it's a bit different now. (!) My class got the first DAT machines, and the instructors didn't know how to use them yet.

Good overview for less money than many; done intensive style for those who can't give up multiple months or years. Which means you have to immediately jump into using those virgin skills when you leave, or they will leave you. Clearly, you won't know a whole hell of a lot after 4-5 weeks; but you might think you do when you leave. Many of the lessons I learned there only became evident after several years of practicing in the field. No regrets about attending. The surrounding area is to be avoided, which could be good from the perspective of 'no distractions'.
Old 1st February 2007
Gear maniac