Login / Register

Is there an online Database of Album Production Credits?
New Reply
Subscribe
jdjustice
22nd January 2007
Old 22nd January 2007
Lives for gear

My Recordings/Credits

Send a message via Skype™ to jdjustice
Is there an online Database of Album Production Credits?

Greg Wells' thread re: Seal's Crazy made me wonder:

is there an online repository of information on album productions?
meaning who engineered, mixed, produced, wrote each track on a particular album.

if not, why not?
someone should take this up as a task if all the info hasn't been catalogued anywhere.
i could possibly do it with help (i am a database programmer in my spare time).....

wondering,
~j.d.
22nd January 2007
Old 22nd January 2007
Klaatu.. barada.. nikto..

Allmusic.com is pretty good.
22nd January 2007
Old 22nd January 2007
Gear maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Spark View Post
Allmusic.com is pretty good.
I like their reviews of albums, but the database is inaccurate and incomplete. They also, don't make changes as they claim, I have tried to get my credits added with no luck - I am mostly on the post side of things but have had a few major and indie releases - I had no luck. A place like imdb for music would be cool.
22nd January 2007
Old 22nd January 2007
Lives for gear

22nd January 2007
Old 22nd January 2007
Lives for gear

I just relaized I did receive credit for one album on Discogs.

Why can't these people update the AMG and Artist Direct sites.

So incomplete and arbitrary. Do they even reference the album credits?

I'm listed on tons of records, but for some reason not on these database sites.

I have heard that they may appear retroactively all at once. Who knows...
Myspace
Facebook
Studio
Twitter
22nd January 2007
Old 22nd January 2007
Lives for gear

It's weird that no one has started the equivalent of IMDb for music. I guess the idea of being a multi-millionaire like Col Needham isn't all that appealing.