Manufacturing Guitar Strings
New Reply
Subscribe
RichCovs
25th July 2013
Old 25th July 2013
Gear Head

Manufacturing Guitar Strings

This may be a bit of a long shot but there are lots of experienced people on this site so it's worth a shot!

I'm a struggling student (living in my overdraft for the summer) and I've decided that I want to start some sort of small business, just to try and make a little bit more cash.

Problem is the only thing I know is music, so I wanna do something music related.

One idea amongst my huge list of terrible ones is to create my own brand of guitar strings. Problem is I have no idea how much they cost to make, I imagine the gear you need to make them costs a lot.

Anybody got an experience, or got any info that could help me out?

Thanks a lot!
25th July 2013
Old 25th July 2013
Gear addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichCovs View Post
This may be a bit of a long shot but there are lots of experienced people on this site so it's worth a shot!

I'm a struggling student (living in my overdraft for the summer) and I've decided that I want to start some sort of small business, just to try and make a little bit more cash.

Problem is the only thing I know is music, so I wanna do something music related.

One idea amongst my huge list of terrible ones is to create my own brand of guitar strings. Problem is I have no idea how much they cost to make, I imagine the gear you need to make them costs a lot.

Anybody got an experience, or got any info that could help me out?

Thanks a lot!
D'Adarrio is an American string manufacturer. They not only produce strings for their own companies but many others. So (kinda' like with a lot of other businesses like beer, mattresses, etc.) they make and sell their own strings and they also manafactur other companies strings based on their specs..

CNN Talks with Jim D'Addario About US Manufacturing Jobs - YouTube
D'Addario Strings - How It's Made - YouTube

RichCovs
25th July 2013
Old 25th July 2013