Need a third amp
New Reply
Subscribe
evilrocker
24th April 2013
Old 24th April 2013
Gear addict

Need a third amp

I have a jmp -79 Master volume 100w and a 6505, and i need another head for modern punk/rock/metal tone. But all the amps i find interesting costs a fortune, e.g Rivera KR100, bogner extacy. Are there other candidates with aprox same price level as 6505, or maybe a little higher?
24th April 2013
Old 24th April 2013

How 'bout Blackstar S-1 - the one with 6L6 tubes?

The 200 watter is probably overkill but it does sound "metal"

I really like the EL34 50 watter!
::
twitter > http://twitter.com/mitchellmusic - http://www.twitter.com/theyardbirds
25th April 2013
Old 25th April 2013
Lives for gear

Used Fender Bassman head. Handwired, 50 watts, easy for people to work on and you can make them scream stock or slightly modded. Silverface are cheaper and still work fine.
mBox Pro 3, Pro Tools 11.1.2, OSX 10.9.2
Radial JDI x 2, ProD2, ProRMP
'59? Bogen Challenger CHA-33, '65 Fender Tremolux, Bandmaster & Showman; '74 Princeton, '77 Princeton Reverb, Dr. Z. Mini Z, pedals, George L's cabling
'65 Farfisa Compact Duo
www.facebook.com/thetoysband
evilrocker
25th April 2013
Old 25th April 2013
Gear addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by nedorama View Post
Used Fender Bassman head. Handwired, 50 watts, easy for people to work on and you can make them scream stock or slightly modded. Silverface are cheaper and still work fine.
Fender for metal?? Seriously?
25th April 2013
Old 25th April 2013
Lives for gear

Do you need the amp for recording or for gigs?
In case of recording, how about an amp with lower wattage, like a THD univalve? Swap tubes for different tones and you're good.
Doesn't the Peavey do a decent metal tone?