Fender Quad Reverb issues
New Reply
Subscribe
Fargonof
5th February 2013
Old 5th February 2013
Gear interested

Fender Quad Reverb issues

A while back i bought a Fender Quad Reverb, and when i got home the vibrato channel produced some horrid broken speaker-esque distortion when you pushed the preamp past about 4. I took it to a shop to get it fixed, but they told me that it was caused by how the circuit was designed.

According to them, the reverb/vibrato pulled a bunch of energy since they are never properly bypassed, hence the problem-free normal channel. Now i'm pretty new to the tube amp game and i don't know much about electrical engineering or circuitry, but that just sounds weird to me. If it's an inherent flaw in the design, why haven't i read about it anywhere? It's a pretty respected amp doctor, but it just sounds absurd to me.

I've found one guy on the entire internet with a similar problem, it doesn't seem like a common thing. Does anyone here mind enlighting me on whether or not it's fixable? It's pretty frustrating since i can't use any amp distortion at all
5th February 2013
Old 5th February 2013
Lives for gear

I have a Quad here and no problems. Not sure what your amp guy is talking about. If I want amp distortion this is not my first choice. I normally use this amp when I want a creamy/drippy type of sound. This one is a 70's Quad and my amp tech has no problem fixing anything on it. (so far)
Good luck!
5th February 2013
Old 5th February 2013
Lives for gear

If you haven't already tried different tubes in it, I'd try that. Otherwise, I'd find a different tech.
5th February 2013
Old 5th February 2013
Lives for gear

Yep, the tech you took it to has no idea what they're talking about. Avoid him.

Fender Quad Reverb is the same circuit (mostly) as the Showman and Twin; the tremolo is an optoisolator. They do wear out, but are available here: