Recording: Axe Fx or what?
New Reply
Subscribe
kirkelein
28th January 2013
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear

Recording: Axe Fx or what?

I just got my new guitar for recording some progressive metal (mainly) and I'm now looking at what to get for amplification. I'm mainly a composer and synthesist so I don't have a sweet old rig to record with and since I don't have room or neighbors that allow me to record a real amp I need to buy something else.

It has become clear to me that pretty much all of the plugins sound like arse, so I'm looking at hardware now. Axe Fx is the only digital alternative that sounds nice, but I've never been able to try one out in person, and I'm hesitant to order something this pricey based solely on youtube clips. I've tried Kemper and Elevenrack and they don't cut it. Are there any other options? And will the Axe Fx really be nice enough compared to a real stack, say a Mesa or Engl? I've tried those many times. I like those.

My guitarist friend uses his head through an attenuator, and I could possibly do the same thing. This would be less flexible, less portable and more expensive than an Axe Fx, but it could also sound bloody great. Has anyone else done this?
28th January 2013
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear

there are a ton of discussions about this, but for me I would consider it a demo only device. Mentally I need an amp or else I can't convince myself it sounds as good as it could. If I were doing metal I would probably be fine with using the ax FX.
MacPro 2.66 quad, Macbook Pro 13" 2.4, Protools 8 LE 003, Logic 8, McDsp, Sonnox, API 512c, GR NV500, Buzz Essence, Focusrite Solo, DBX 160A, Telefunken AK47, AKG 414eb Adam A7 Sub 8, Laney, Fender, Martin, Musicman, PRS, Marshall, Bach.
kirkelein
28th January 2013
Old 28th January 2013
Lives for gear