Vox Ac30CC2 Rectifier...smashed
New Reply
Subscribe
Kellebot
29th February 2012
Old 29th February 2012
Gear interested

Vox Ac30CC2 Rectifier...smashed

So i opened up my vox to replace out the valves, and i find the rectifier smashed and wrapped up in gaffer tape.

It looks as if the bottom of the rectifier is still there and (sort of) intact.

Is this insanely unsafe?

Can you run an Ac30 without a rectifier?

Im no expert with these things.
Kellebot
29th February 2012
Old 29th February 2012
Gear interested

Ngr
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
Ngr
Gear maniac

without the rectifier the amp will not produce an sound but it is of no harm for the amp. replace with a working one and you are done. simple as that.
be sure to unplug the amp from mains power and take out the tube grabbing the base and rocking it with circular motion until it comes out. absolutely avoid touching the contacts that were into the glass.

I imagine you have never used the amp before, otherwise I can't figure out how you could produce any sound without a working rectifier.
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
Lives for gear

Weird..
maybe someone built a SS rectifier in there - like a Weber copper cap? Otherwise, no idea how that could work.
"Seriously, there's a certain kind of creative inspiration that can come from exploring the outer limits of a musical instrument. Now days the limits are so vast that it can be difficult to set boundaries." --spargee
Kellebot
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
Gear interested

That's why i'm baffled, i have been using this amp for nearly a year now!

It's possible that someone built a SS rectifier in there, it looks as if someone has tampered with the insides.

Either way ive opted to get a new rectifier just to be safe.

This was the last thing i expected to see!
Ngr
1st March 2012
Old 1st March 2012
Ngr
Gear maniac

mmmm...