Choosing a bass guitar for DI recording
New Reply
Subscribe
richsj
14th March 2011
Old 14th March 2011
Gear interested

Choosing a bass guitar for DI recording

I'm a guitarist by trade and have been doing all kinds of production for the last 3 years or so.

I'm looking to purchase a good value bass guitar without an amp - the sole use will be to record direct into a standard interface, no fancy preamps yet I'm afraid!

Any idea what bass would be good?
14th March 2011
Old 14th March 2011
Lives for gear

I have been using a Fender Precision with a J neck (I have short digits and prefer the Jazz bass). However, I do miss the tonal range of the Jazz bass. The precision is good and round (passive, of course), but I usually like a little more midrange warmth.
15th March 2011
Old 15th March 2011
Lives for gear

I'm also interested to see the responses you get as I am in a similar situation as a guitarist songwriter who likes to demo in my home studio.
15th March 2011
Old 15th March 2011
Gear nut

I'm glad to see this question too. I have some half way decent mic pre's that might allow me an okay sound from a direct bass for my hobby needs. I've been considering a Made in Mexico Fender bass off and on for a while. Hope to see some responses with experience.
15th March 2011
Old 15th March 2011
GS Community Manager

My Recordings/Credits

For me, Precision + good DI = bliss.

I have a Fender Classic 50's MIM which is superb on a budget.

I also have an Am Std (latest revision, 2009 I think) P-bass which is probably (well, arbitrarily) 15% better, but more than 15% more expensive, if that makes sense.

Gearslutz on Facebook!

My personal Twitter - @WhitecatTV
16th March 2011
Old 16th March 2011
Gear maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by richsj View Post
Any idea what bass would be good?
I have been researching for the last month for the same purpose and the consensus seems to be that:

- Passive pickups are better or easier (I forget which) for recording than active pickups.