Benefits of 2x12 over 1x12 for Recording
Old 12th March 2010
Lives for gear

Benefits of 2x12 over 1x12 for Recording

Is there any? I mean how are you going to stick one mic into two speakers?

If you're playing live, okay, ante up right? That is, as much as you can muster. But for recording...?

Doesn't it make more sense to have one 12 than two?
Old 12th March 2010
Lives for gear

For me, I have a 2x12 loaded with two different speakers. I'll jam one mic on one speaker and one mic on another. I have a '66 Twin w/ one JBL and, for recording, I'll put a Tone Tubby on the other side. The JBLs are very bright/trebly so I'll often put an MD421 on it. The Tone Tubbies are smoother without the trebly brittleness and sound great w/ an SM57, SM7B, AKG 414, etc.

Personally I find it easier to get around phasing issues also by mic'ing both speakers. I'm pretty new at the double mic'ing though so I could be wrong with all of this.
Old 12th March 2010
has all the gear he needs

I like two 12" combos.......right now it's Classic 30 and Pro Jr. (oops....that's a 12" and a 10").

I'm a sucker for the texture of two different tones.

I guess you could make a case for a 2x12 close mic'd on one speaker and then hitting a room mic for ambient goodness.

Old 12th March 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupking View Post
Is there any? I mean how are you going to stick one mic into two speakers?
Oh, and just thought of this - a lot of folks dual mic the amp (myself included) so it isn't "one mic, two speakers". I dual mic a 1x12 combo as well.
Old 13th March 2010
Lives for gear

Hmmm

Sounds like something to consider then for sure. The next question for a dual jack scenario.

I'd like the ability to be able to do one speaker or both.

I always thought that micing two speakers side by side would promote phasing issues, but I guess that's not the case?

Thanks guys!
Old 13th March 2010
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by soupking View Post