Login / Register

Can anyone explain in laymans terms head/cab ohms etc?
New Reply
Subscribe
dougal engineer
5th February 2010
Old 5th February 2010
Gear nut

Can anyone explain in laymans terms head/cab ohms etc?

I need to learn matching heads with cabs regarding ohms etc?

Both for tube amps and transistor amps as I understand this differs for these.

If you cannot match the cab/head identically do these two rules apply?

If running a tube amp the ohms on the amp should be more than the cab?
If running a transistor amp the ohms on the amp should be less than the cab?

Thanks for any explanation / advice.
5th February 2010
Old 5th February 2010
Lives for gear

from what I understand (and I'm no expert), you should always try to match the (amp head - tube) to the cabinets ohm rating. You can run a 4 ohm head into an 16 ohm cabinet but you should never run a 16 ohm head into a 4 ohm cabinet. I have no idea about solid state.
5th February 2010
Old 5th February 2010
Gear addict

As was just said, you should always match the impedance. This can be confusing and controversial. However there are exceptions under certain conditions.
VP
5th February 2010
Old 5th February 2010
Gear Head

Dont think thats correct, guys!

Tube, lower = safer

Transistor, Higher = safer.

So an 8ohm output on a tube amps head going into a 4ohm cab is gonna be ok. Its really hard to damage the output transformer by pulling too much, the tubes will maybe work a little harder but they reach a point where they just start to limit the power they give out.

The same happens if you are running too HIGH a load from a tube amp but now other gremlins creep in causing voltage spikes which have the potential to fry the OP transformer.