Best all around low cost electric guitar
Old 27th December 2007
Gear maniac

Best all around low cost electric guitar

I'm not a real guitar player (drummer by trade). I use guitars for composing, rhythm, sound textures for my tracks. Anyway, I have a suitable acoustic. I also have an old Gibson ES-125 archtop. Very nice full classic Gibson sound. Through Logic and Amplitube, I can pretty much dial in any type of sound (start, bles,etc). The archtop is bulky and has a few intonation problems as you move up the next closer to body. Anyway...it has served me well. I thought of an Epiphone Les Paul...but I already have a Gibson. Maybe a low end strat or tele? Low end PRS? I'm not big on Jackson's Charvelle's etc. Please help...I would like a jack of all trades on the cheap (under $600).
Old 27th December 2007
Gear addict

you're going to have to decide if you want single coils or HBs. those are the most fundamentally different guitar sounds. After that it's mostly the amp that gives the flavor. Fender deluxe, twin, bassman or Marshall/Vox/Orange etc are the other big choices. Of course there are many many options in guitars and amps. I'm still refining my guitar/amp/pedal combo and I've been playing 7 years now.

If you want beautiful clean, twangy, surfy, reverb, clean sound I would go with a fender guitar and a fender amp. If you're going for a rock sound, I would go with HBs and a british style amp. Personally I like playing out of a real amp...

I'd get a MIJ strat or older squire, tele or jaguar/jazzmaster. Then change the pickups if it's not to your liking. But I play surfy, vintagey pop rock stuff so that's how I sound. I have a vox ac30 with weber blue dogs, a space echo, an original triangle knob big muff, a chambered warmoth strat with fralins and a USA fender jaguar.
Old 27th December 2007
Jai guru deva om

Old 27th December 2007
Lives for gear

Reverend and Jerry Jones make amazing guitars at a great price point.