What wire for the guitar rig?
New Reply
Subscribe
Jax
31st March 2007
Old 31st March 2007
Lives for gear

What wire for the guitar rig?

So I've got a 2x12 cab hooked up to a Randall RT 2/50, which is hooked up to a Randall RM4.

I think the wiring could be better suited to the application, because I have 4 studio patch cables connecting the preamp to the poweramp, and one connecting the poweramp to the speaker cab. That wire is Belden 1800F (110 ohm AES) which works fine, but I get the feeling it would sound better if using thicker gauge stuff.

What wire would you guitarslutz recommend?

Is it generally best to use the same gauge and make of wire throughout the rig?

Would silver be better than copper, or does it not really matter with a guitar rig?

Thanks in advance!

I'm still learning about the world of guitar playing, and lovin' it!
1st April 2007
Old 1st April 2007
Gear maniac

Mogami 2524 is a good cable to use.

But between power amp and speaker you should use proper speaker cable! Using ordinary cable can harm your amp!!!

/megl
1st April 2007
Old 1st April 2007
Gear maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jax View Post
So I've got a 2x12 cab hooked up to a Randall RT 2/50, which is hooked up to a Randall RM4.

I think the wiring could be better suited to the application, because I have 4 studio patch cables connecting the preamp to the poweramp, and one connecting the poweramp to the speaker cab. That wire is Belden 1800F (110 ohm AES) which works fine, but I get the feeling it would sound better if using thicker gauge stuff.

What wire would you guitarslutz recommend?

Is it generally best to use the same gauge and make of wire throughout the rig?

Would silver be better than copper, or does it not really matter with a guitar rig?

Thanks in advance!

I'm still learning about the world of guitar playing, and lovin' it!