Login / Register

UAD Precision Maximizer

3.9 3.9 (3 Reviews)
The masters of emulations have done a series of original plug-ins, called Precision series. Here I give you my view of the Precision Maximizer!
UAD Precision Maximizer

Add Review
Subscribe

Published by oscardvine on 6th March 2012
User Review
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Bang for buck
4 out of 5
Overall: 3.75 3.75
UAD Precision Maximizer

First of all, let me introduce myself - I am a musicproducer and an studio engineer. I'm only 22 and have been making music for about 7 years now.
I studied musicproduction and music engineering for 3 years and consider myself more of a musicproducer than an engineer. But I am reading and learning about mixing music everyday because I want my productions to sound as good as they can!

Well enough of that - let's talk about the UAD Precision Maximizer!

First of all - I love it. Hands down, it's great! And here is why:
  • Great sound, works on mostly everything!
  • Easy to use.
  • No computer cpu consumption (like with all the UAD plug-ins)

We'll start talking about how it sounds, what's it's character - It has many! With the shape knob you can alter it's character, what it is giving to the sound. this is dependent for every sound, so give it a turn and see for yourself. Also, with the input, you can increase the "drive". The louder the signal, the harder the maximizer will work.
Also, if you like the character, but think it's a bit to much, try turning down the mix knob a bit. That way, you can get a polished sound but with some edge!
Another great feature (especially for house drums!) is the limit function. Enable it, then start palying with shape, input and mix. It's quite easy to get a club feel, and make the kick fat and boomy.