Login / Register

Samson MediaOne 3a

4 4 (1 Reviews)
Whether you need a monitor system for your digital recording studio, video production suite, or if you just want better monitors for gaming and listening to music on your computer, MediaOne active monitors are the perfect solution.
Samson MediaOne 3a

Add Review
Subscribe

Published by azarat on 25th December 2011
User Review
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
Ease of use
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
Bang for buck
5 out of 5
Overall: 4 4
Samson MediaOne 3a

So I got these monitors for my little home “studio”. I’m a student so I cant afford any high-end speakers at the moment, but needed some speakers, and tried to find some that played as clear and neutral as possible for my budget, and so I ended with with the MediaOne 3a from Samson.

Well I received them and connected them, but well, on one of the monitors (the Left I believe) the tweeter didn’t work! Oh well, I quickly arranged for the store (musicstore.com) to send a carrier to pick them up, to send them back in, and I received a new working pair after a week or so (which is really good considering I’m in the UK and the store is in Germany).

Anyway, these monitors are cheap, and the review (and the scores given) of them here is all compared to the price paid, using these in a production studio would be crazy, but if you’re beginning production and are on a budget, these are pretty damn good. I would however recommend maybe starting off with the 5” instead of the 3” that I got. The speakers have a small volume button, which is quite annoying to fiddle with, as it is pretty small. Thankfully I have a volume button on my interface (Saffire Pro 14) which I tend to use instead as that one is much more pleasant to use, and also more in reach. There’s also a line-in (for an iPod for example) and headphone-out on the front of the speaker.