Old 18th October 2006
Lives for gear

Exclamation Korg MR-1000 / 1bit-5.8MHz DSD portable recorder

I have been working with Korg on this new 1bit recorder that has been designed by Koji Oishi under the supervision of Dr. Yoshio Yamasaki at Waseda University in Japan.
Dr. Yoshio Yamasaki invented 1bit recording and licensed the technology to Sony (who does not give him credit for it). This new recorder will be a milestone for the recording studio, the MR-1000 will most likely retail for under $799.
The MR-1000 records at 5.6MHz (2x the rate of SACD) and comes with software (Audiogate) for Mac & PC to transfer files to your computer and convert to PCM.
At the recent AES show, a informal listening test of the prototype unit had high end mastering engineers & audiophiles floored, and i can vouch for that as i have been using it for a few months now, it sounds fantastic!

Before you say "nobody cares about SACD or 1bit", please read the explanation of why 1bit recording sounds better and is a much more accurate & future proof recording & archival technology. Once you understand what 1bit is, it will all make sense why it is a smart move forward.

Read this explanation of it:
1bit Explained

Korg Site Info:
MR-1000
Old 18th October 2006
Lives for gear

This reminds me of a product looking for a customer.

Tell me why I'm wrong.
Old 18th October 2006
Emi
Gear maniac

And what about a digital input and output with up/down sampling options in order touse the unit as a stand alone converter?....I can not see at least one I/O of SPDIF...

Cheers

PS: Like the sound of DSD though....
Old 18th October 2006
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emi View Post
And what about a digital input and output with up/down sampling options in order touse the unit as a stand alone converter?....I can not see at least one I/O of SPDIF...

Cheers

PS: Like the sound of DSD though....